Vitamin C Juice Bomb

Standard

Juice

Today it’s all about juicing.

A freshly-squeezed juice is not only really delicious, but also very healthy. It gives you the possibility to take in a lot of vegetables and fruits that you would have trouble eating in one go. However, by juicing, you effectively lose total vitamins and minerals intake that you could’ve had, had you simply eaten it. One reason is that the peel isn’t in the juice, which is one of the healthiest parts. It is really important that you drink your fresh juice as quickly as possible. As soon as the fruit and veggies are squeezed out, the juice starts to oxidate due to contact with air. This destroys a lot of the nutrients and also the taste. So, optimally, drink your juice straight away 🙂

Well that pretty much sums up all my technical knowledge about juicing. At the beginning of this year I got myself a juicer because I was really excited about the idea of juicing and wanted to start a juice- fast. That didn’t happen and now, unfortunately, I don’t use the juicer so much anymore. Today I felt like getting it out again, because I noticed that the juice hype is about to re-start in the German-vegan community 😉 The new book ‘Vegan for Youth’ by Attila Hildmann is going to come out soon and part of the book will cover juicing. Anyway, I thought in this cold time of the year a juice will be good for my immune system.

DSC_0879

About my juicer: I got this one from Phillips. However, I’m not sure if I would recommend it. Overall I’m pretty happy with it, but I feel like the machine squeezes out less juice each use, since the pulp comes out wetter every time. And I haven’t even used it that much!

Now I would like to show you a juice recipe, one that I love:

It consists of:

  • 5 Oranges (Vitamin A, B1, C, Calcium, Potassium)
  • 1 big carrot (Vitamin C, K, Potassium, Beta-keratin)
  • 1 piece of ginger (Vitamin B6, Potassium, Magnesium)
  • 1 lemon (Vitamin C)
  • 1 beetroot (Vitamin C, Iron, Potassium, folic acid, Magnesium)

Peel the oranges, the ginger and the lemon and slice them into big pieces. Wash the carrot well and push it all through the juicer. For me this makes one liter of juice.

 

This juice strengthens the immune system, contains antioxidants and is hematopoietic(helps build healthy blood) (through the combination of iron and folic acid in the beetroot). Iron is absorbed by the body especially well when consumed alongside vitamin C. This juice is healthy, delicious and easy on the eye 🙂

I wish you all a wonderful and delicious day! 🙂

Feedback is always appreciated, so if you like my blog/post don’t forget to like, share and/or comment – here or on facebook. Cheers! 

Avilia

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Preserving (almost) all the orange in 3 recipes | Entropy Acres

  2. Wonderful recipe & post! I’ve just got into juicing myself, a friend gave me her 30 year old AEG juicer. This device isn’t the most whisper-quiet one and not that comfortable to clean, but it works great, the pulp is super dry and I just love it! I’ve made a delicious juice containing apples, beetroot, quitte (what’s that in English?! ;)), carrot and grapes. Keep up your great work! x

    • Aw, thanks so much 🙂 Happy to hear that, especially from you, since I really love your blog 🙂
      I saw your juicer in one of your posts (don’t remember which one). 🙂 it looks so cute! good for you that you got it second-hand AND it’s quiet 🙂 Mine is super loud and now I wish I didn’t spend that much money on it. I don’t think it was worth it…Anyway, that juice sounds delicious! I love beetroot juice and with grapes and quitte (and don’t know the word in English, either 😉 ) it sounds even better!
      Thanks 🙂 x

Leave a comment :)

