Vegan Wednesday #4

Standard

vegan wednesday

Hi everyone!

I hope you had/have a beautiful Vegan Wednesday 🙂

Breakfast

Breakfast had to be quick today; I had toast with “Lotus” almond biscuit spread. This has been ‘spreading’ through German facebook groups and forums for a while now and I just had to give it a try. Really delicious, I can only recommend it 🙂

Why was I in a rush? This morning my mum came by with an old spice shelf and some tools. The shelf had belonged to my parents. They had it in their first apartment in Mannheim (about 40 years ago?) and now it is in our first apartment in Mannheim 😀 I’d been looking for a shelf exactly like this one! We had all of our spices and herbs on top of the exhaust hood and this was just so chaotic (thus, the oil accident during Vegan Wednesday #2). Now I’m really happy to get our small kitchen somewhat in order 🙂

spice shelf

Lunch

For lunch I brought my lunchbox with leftovers from last night to uni: soy steak sandwich with pickles and BBQ Sauce, some potato wedges and cocktail tomatoes. The sandwich was really delicious, whereas the potato wedges were not that great cold…

Dinner

Tonight I veganised one of my old favourite meals for the first time! Asian noodles with soy meat, spring onions and cashews. Super easy recipe! Hard to believe that I used to consider this a ‘harder’ recipe, back when I used to eat meat. Here’s the veganised recipe for you:

Ingredients (for 4 people):

  • 150g soy meat
  • Vegetable stock
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 10 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 250g vegan Asian noodles
  • 4 tablespoons plant-based oil
  • 120g cashews
  • 6 spring onions
  • 2 chili
  • 2cm ginger
  • Salt

Preparation:

  1. Cover the soy meat with enough boiling vegetable stock and let it steep for 5 minutes. After, squeeze the liquid out of the soy meat, e.g. with a potato ricer.
  2. Now marinate the soy meat. Peel the cloves of garlic and press them into a small bowl. Stir in 6 tablespoons of soy sauce into the garlic, put it over the soy meat and mix. Then mix the flour with the soy meat. Let it seep for about 30 minutes.
  3. In the meantime wash the spring onions and cut them thinly. Wash the chilli and slice it really small. Grind the ginger. If the cashews are salted, wash them and roast them in a pan.
  4. When the soy meat is ready, fry it in a wok with plant-based oil for 8 minutes. Add spring onions, chilli and ginger and fry for another 3 minutes. In the meantime cook the noodles (they only need 3 minutes). Add the noodles and the cashews to the wok and fry for another 3 minutes.
  5. Finally, season it with salt and soy sauce.
  6. Done 🙂

For dessert we had Alpro chocolate pudding 🙂

 Alpro chocolate pudding

I hope you enjoyed my Vegan Wednesday and I wish you all a wonderful and delicious day! 🙂

Feedback is always appreciated, so if you like my blog/post don’t forget to like, share and/or comment – here or on facebook. Cheers! 

Avilia

Leave a comment :)

